Peanut Butter

I hate spending money,

Mostly because I don’t have any.

I have no money and I am in debt

But I keep fucking spending it.

I see something that no one needs,

I think of you and I buy it,

Without a second thought.

I could spend four months thinking about new jeans,

Jeans that I need,

And not buy them to save money

But for you I am just flushed with cash.

Because for some reason I like you or whatever.

I guess I like you more than I like saving

Or electricity or food.

I love food, Man

I was contemplating what I was going to eat.

If I was going to not eat,

Or eat the celery and bread that’s in my house

Because I have no money to buy anything more

But you asked me to go out

And as much as you like to treat me

I felt like it was my turn

And low and behold

I spent money again.

Money that could’ve gone to peanut butter

You know, for my celery or bread

Money that could’ve gone to a bill

To help me settle some of this debt

But instead it went to you

Not to you, but for you

For you, for me

Because I guess I like you

Or whatever.

Leave a Reply

